Protecting & Restoring Long Island's Peconic Bays

Management Committee

The Management Committee develops program goals and recommends workplans and budgets to the Policy Committee.

The roles and responsibilities of the Management Committee are to recommend the workplans, budgets, Action Plans, and the Comprehensive Conservation and Management Plan to the Policy Committee. On behalf of the Policy Committee, the Management Committee manages the Peconic Estuary Partnership, ensuring the commitments and deadlines are met. The Management Committee also coordinates the effective involvement of the advisory committees.

Committees within the Peconic Estuary Partnership strive for consensus. However, if a Management Committee vote needs to be taken, voting representatives from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC), New York State Department of State (NYSDOS), Suffolk County Legislators (District 1 and 2), Suffolk County Department of Health, Suffolk County Economic Development and Planning, Local Government, Stony Brook University (host entity), Suffolk County Soil and Water Conservation District, and chairs of the Technical Advisory Committee, Local Government Committee, and Citizens’ Advisory Committee will be eligible for a vote. See PEP Bylaws for more information.

Management Committee Meeting Minutes:

Search here for more Management Committee meeting minutes


Quarterly Meetings

Check the Calendar for Upcoming Meetings

Voting Members

*Chair* NYDEC: Sue Van Patten, Watershed Section B, Section Chief; NYS LINAP Coordinator (NYSDEC, Division of Water)

*Vice-Chair* Suffolk County: Lisa Broughton, Water Quality and Energy Director (Suffolk County Dept of Economic Development and Planning)

NYDEC: Cassie Bauer, Bureau Chief, Marine Habitat (NYSDEC, Division of Marine Resources)

NYSDOS: Jeremy Campbell (NYSDOS Office of Planning, Development, and Community Infrastructure, South Shore Estuary Reserve)

Suffolk County: Ken Zegel (Suffolk County Department of Health Services, Office of Ecology-Chief, Principal Public Health Engineer)

Suffolk County D1+2: Catherine Stark (Suffolk County Legislator, District One); Ann Welker (Suffolk County Legislator, District Two)

Local Government Representative: TBD

Suffolk County Soil and Water Conservation District Corey Humphrey (District Manager)

SUNY Stony Brook, SoMAS: Paul Shepson, PhD (Dean, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences, SUNY Stony Brook)

PEP TAC Co-Chair: Matthew Sclafani, PhD  (Cornell Cooperative Extension of Suffolk County, Marine Program)


PEP CAC Co-Chair: Chris Clapp

Connect with Us

Sign up for News, Events and Information straight to your inbox.