Protecting & Restoring Long Island's Peconic Bays

Local Government Committee

The Local Government Committee (LGC) consists of representatives from the five East End Towns surrounding the Peconic Bay (Southhold, Riverhead, Southampton, East Hampton, Shelter Island), the Town of Brookhaven (which is not directly on the shores of the marine system but is located within its watershed and includes portions of the Peconic River), the eight villages surrounding Peconic Bay (Quogue, Dering Harbor, Sag Harbor, North Haven, Southampton, Westhampton Beach, Greenport, East Hampton), and the Trustees of Freeholder Commonalities (East Hampton, Southold, Southampton).

The charges to the LGC are to provide input into the Conference Agreement, the annual workplan, and CCMP.  The Local Government committee is crucial because local governments have ultimate responsibility over land use, zoning, and other local issues.

The Local Government Committee shall operate as a standing advisory committee to provide a forum for the local governments within the Estuary Program study area and its partners to discuss, advise, and implement environmental restoration to allow for effective management of the study area.

Local Government Committee meeting minutes:

Search here for more Local Government Committee meeting minutes



Committee Chair: James Colligan (Shelter Island Town Councilman)

Check the Calendar for Upcoming Meetings

Connect with Us

Sign up for News, Events and Information straight to your inbox.